About the Federation


The International Federation for Research in Women's History/Federation Internationale Pour la Recherche en Histoire des Femmes was founded in April 1987. The first meeting of national committee representatives was held in 1989, in Bellagio, Italy, with the assistance of the Rockefeller Foundation. The inaugural officers of the IFRWH/FIRHF were: President - Ida Blom of the University of Bergen, Norway; Vice-president - Ruth Roach Pierson of the University of Toronto, Canada; and Secretary-treasurer - Karen Offen of Stanford University, USA.


The Aim of IFRWH/FIRHF is to encourage and coordinate research in all aspects of women's history at international level, by promoting exchange of information and publication and by arranging and assisting in arranging large-scale international conferences as well as more restricted and specialized meetings. National Committees serve as liaison between communities of researchers and the Federation.


Membership to IFRWH/FIRHF is primarily by affiliation of national committees of researchers in the field of women’s history.There is also an affiliated organisation membership.Individualls can also become corresponding members.For more information on membership, contact a member of the board. The IFRWH/FIRHF is an Affiliated International Organisation of the International Committee of Historical Sciences/Comité Internationale des Sciences Historiques. It hosts a conference during the meetings of the Congress.The last CISH was in Jinan in August 2015.The next one will be in Poznan, Poland in 2020.

2013 marked the 25th Anniversary of the International Federation for Research in Women's History. The Federation's Conference in the University of Bulgaria, Sofia celebrated the event. The following are the talks delivered at the opening session.