Ida Blom-Karen Offen Prize

The Ida Blom-Karen Offen Prize in Transnational Women's and Gender History is named after  two of the founding members of the Federation.  Ida  Blom was the first President of the Federation and Karen Offen served as the first Secretary/Treasurer.  

The Prize will be awarded for the first time in 2020.

Over fifty entries were nominated for the prize and the Selection Committee has announced a long list of twelve books.  They are listed below in alphabetical order.

Members of the Selection Committee: Vera Mackie, University of Wollongong (Chair), Eileen Boris, University of California, Santa Barbara (President of the International Federation for Research in Women's History), Manuela Martini, University of Lyon, Ann Catrin Östman, Abo Akademi University and Elisa Camiscioli, State University of New York, Binghamton.

For the guidelines for the prize click here.

The winner will be announced in August 2020.

Françoise Thébaud. Une traversée du siècle. Marguerite Thibert, femme engagée et fonctionnaire internationale. 2017. Editions Belin.

Click here for more information.

Elise van Nederveen Meerkerk. Women, Work and Colonialism in the Netherlands and Java: Comparisons, Contrasts, and Connections, 1830-1940. 2019. Palgrave Macmillan.  

Click here for more information.

Deanna Womack. Protestants, Gender and the Arab Renaissance in Late Ottoman Syria. 2019. Edinburgh University Press.

Click here for more information.